≡ Menu ≡ Menu

CenturyLink Complaints | Do You Have A Complaint About CenturyLink?

If You Have A CenturyLink Complaint, Share Your CenturyLink Complaints With Others And Report Your CenturyLink Complaint To A Telephone Consumer Protection Lawyer.

A team of telephone consumer protection lawyers are investigating potential landline telephone complaints being made by current and former CenturyLink phone customers and CenturyLink telephone subscribers about CenturyLink and/or CenturyLink landline, wireline or fixed-line telecommunications products and services.

CenturyLink (also formerly known as CenturyTel, Embarq and Qwest) is one of the largest wireline telecommunications company in the United States providing landline and other communications services to millions of residential, business, governmental and wholesale CenturyLink customers, including local and long-distance telephone services, broadband, private line (including special access), Multi-Protocol Label Switching or MPLS, data integration, managed hosting (including cloud hosting), colocation, Ethernet, network access, public access, wireless, video services and other ancillary services.

CenturyLink provides local telephone service in the following states through various CenturyLink Local Exchange Carriers or CenturyLink LECs:  Colorado, Arizona, Washington, Florida, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Utah, Iowa, New Mexico, Missouri, Nevada, Idaho, Ohio, Wisconsin, Virginia, Texas, Pennsylvania, Alabama, Montana, Nebraska, Indiana, Arkansas, Tennessee, Wyoming, New Jersey, South Dakota, North Dakota, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, South Carolina, Illinois, Georgia, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and California.

AT&T Mobility Cell Phone, Wireless and Mobile Complaints

Do You Have A CenturyLink Complaint?

CenturyLink complaints potentially being investigated include complaints about the following CenturyLink landline telephone products and services, among others:

  • CenturyLink Local Telephone Services (e.g., complaints about CenturyLink local calling services for residential and business customers)
  • CenturyLink Long Distance (e.g., complaints about CenturyLink long distance calling services, including domestic and international long distance, CenturyLink Home Phone 5 Cents Long Distance Plan, CenturyLink Home Phone Unlimited Long Distance Plan, complaints about direct dialed, state-to-state, in-state and local toll calls), complaints about being slammed, i.e., your primary long distance carrier (PICC) being switched or changed to another long distance carrier without your permission)
  • CenturyLink Home Phone Service Plans (e.g., complaints about CenturyLink HomePhone basic phone, CenturyLink Home Phone Plus, and CenturyLink Home Phone Unlimited, CenturyLink Simple Choice, CenturyLink Choice Unlimited)
  • CenturyLink phone calling features (e.g., voice mail, caller ID, call waiting, call waiting ID, selective call waiting ID, three way calling, call forwarding, selective call forwarding, call rejection, last call return, no solicitation, reject or block incoming calls, etc)
  • CenturyLink charges, fees and taxes (e.g., complaints about cramming or the placing of unauthorized or unwanted charges or fees onto your CenturyLink telephone bill or CenturyLink account, complaints about CenturyLink monthly recurring charges and prorated charges, CenturyLink taxes, fees and surcharges, package charges, local service detail, subscriber line and access recovery charge, one-time charges, equipment purchases, connection activation and installation fees, late fees, usage fees, etc.)
  • CenturyLink refunds, adjustments and credits (e.g., complaints about being owed refunds or credits on your CenturyLink telephone account)
  • CenturyLink billing and payments (e.g., complaints about being overcharged, overbilled or paying too much for CenturyLink phone products or services or other CenturyLink billing disputes, complaints about CenturyLink AutoPay, CenturyLink Quick Bill Pay, CenturyLink pay by phone, monthly due date, landline account balances, getting copies of CenturyLink telephone bills or paper statements, CenturyLink online billing and paying online, etc. )
  • CenturyLink call quality (e.g., trouble making or receiving phone calls, phone outages, no dial tone, no phone service, annoying noises, static, hissing or echoes on CenturyLink phone line, etc.)
  • CenturyLink telephone calls (e.g., complaints about international calling or dialing, collect calls, long distance calls, inmate calling or calls from prisons or jails, calls never made or answered, operator assisted calls, dial around calls, 10-10 calls, person-to-person, unwanted robocalls or autodialed calls, 900 calls, etc.)
  • CenturyLink account management (e.g., complaints about CenturyLink service being disconnected, suspended or terminated, complaints about CenturyLink My Account at www.centurylink.com, etc.)
  • CenturyLink telephone numbers and access lines (e.g., complaints about porting CenturyLink telephone number, adding, reconnecting, cancelling or terminating CenturyLink service or phone lines)
  • CenturyLink privacy issues (i.e., complaints about sharing of private information, etc)
  • CenturyLink telephone equipment and wiring (e.g., CenturyLink complaints about installation, repair and replacement of defective, faulty or broken CenturyLink telephone equipment and wiring, returned equipment, phone jacks, inside wiring, outside lines, downed wires, and telephone poles, etc.)
  • Other CenturyLink products and services (e.g., CenturyLink Home Security and CenturyLink Smart Home, CenturyLink internet, CenturyLink DirectTV, CenturyLink calling cards, directories and yellow pages, and CenturyLink protection plans)
  • CenturyLink offers, promotions, rewards, rebates and advertisements (e.g., complaints about CenturyLink ads, deals, rebates, rewards, and discounts, complaints about CenturyLink bundles such as CenturyLink Double Play and CenturyLink Triple Play bundles)

If You Have A CenturyLink Complaint, Report Your CenturyLink Complaints To A Telephone Consumer Protection Lawyer.

Fill Out The Form On The Right To Request a Free Attorney Review Of Your CenturyLink Complaint.

{ 34 comments… add one }

  • Nora Tudor October 4, 2014, 11:12 pm

    You don’t want to know all that has gone wrong as it would take up too much space but I got the Smart Home Security Package (back then it wasn’t Silver Plan, Platinum Plan . . . ) after receiving a flyer via USPS. I live in a building that is home to low income handicapped and is partially subsidized by the government. I became aware that the management was making frequent unannounced forays into my home but only when I went out which I think is REALLY creepy. The management here changes like most people change their underwear so that’s frequently. They don’t inspire confidence. Some have been covered in tattoos, a number of them drunk on the job (on several occasions), fresh out of jail and that sort and so on so you can imagine how safe a lone woman feels in the place. You want to check out my housekeeping habits? Fine, but you do so in front of a neutral third party who keeps an eye on you when you do come in and I’m not there to stop you from going through my drawers etc.. Centurylink thinks people like me have absolutely NO RIGHTS to address because thay think I’m essentially getting a free ride. That neutral party you want to guard you? They are ANYTHING but neutral and the only reason I haven’t been robbed or raped is because I have nothing to steal and I keep my walker under the doorknob at night. Nobody should have to live this way in America especially a physically weakened senior such as myself. What a scam

  • tim von tersch October 21, 2014, 12:01 am

    answer man very rude and did not answer question!!

  • Cassandra November 17, 2014, 5:46 pm

    This company is totally defunct in all aspects. Six weeks ago I ordered their service for internet. They didn’t bother to tell me that the jerks would put a HARD inquiry on my credit report for a $30.00 a month service which was illegal. They were required by law to inform me of this, I would have never gone for the service if they had informed me.

    I was in the process of getting a loan to purchase an apartment building. With great credit score 726 I was eligible for a very nice interest rate. When QWest put the hard inquiry on my credit record it was dropped below the 720 needed for the best interest rate and it caused my lending rate to increase by 1.6% which over a 15 years contract is a substantial amount of money.

    This company is “PIG SHIT” always was and always will be! Thats why they change their name like most people change their underwear.

  • adan cruz lopez January 28, 2015, 2:40 pm

    This company is the poorest in customer service. They are rude, they lie and cheat. I order their internet service, which it did not work at all. We wanted to add their tv service and the guy never show up. After waiting all day long they notify us two days later that we did not get a signal. They agree to terminate the contract, and told me that I only have to pay the last month bill. A month later they are telling me that i have to pay termination fees over 200 dollars because of a contract. I will not pay them and I will sick legal advice, and I will sue them
    otherwise they will continue to do their illegal practices.If any other person has the same complaints please contact me to file a class action law suit.

  • Tonia May 14, 2015, 7:10 pm

    Century Link sucks big time. I authorized them to take $100 off my card and these people took almost $300. I called them and the customer service lady was no help and rude.

  • Paul June 6, 2015, 5:15 am

    I have not had a phone for 2 weeks and have heard ever under thing the sun lies hung up on put on hold told didn`t pay bill and no help never seen any thing like it in my life no customer service at all !!!!

  • Tom Lewis June 24, 2015, 2:20 am

    we started our internet service several years ago as”unlimited” service. Now they are telling us we have excessive use and has shut our service off even though we are up to date on our bill. They are saying we have to go with a business package for double the cost, and sign a three year contract with them for this service. What a bunch of crap!!! Centurylink sucks! No wander they aren’t with the BBB.

  • Cindy A July 13, 2015, 1:12 pm

    I have had issues with my phone line since I moved in 2012. If it rains the line does not work. They have sent people out to repair but, needless to say, it does not work if it rains. I am in an area that cell service is spotty and reception is poor and, that is one reason for land line. I have called on numerous occasions… sat on hold… transferred… to the tune of no than 2 hours in hopes to get some type of resoltion. Finally, Gina from the loyalty department says, ” “well I won’t mince words with you, I am a grandma and have been doing this a long time, you need to go somewhere else for service”! That is easier said than done. I have everything bundled, I don;t know how to set everything up to work (I am no Spring chicken), and my level of stress soars..I just want a phone to work. I am paying for a phone. Where does CenturyLink get off on providing a service that is not functional? I asked for the address to send the complaint, was provided with a fax number from customer service representative, that is a non-working number. Does anyone have the correct fax number or address to send my complaint to?

    • Christell Henderson July 17, 2015, 9:48 pm

      Rude representative; advised she was from escalations; I questioned charges for suspension of service; additionally I questioned if prior notification was given prior to suspension of service; and if confirmation of the notification of suspension took place; becauuse I did not have knowledge of suspension that’s why I questioned charge of $21.25; she continued to leave the line during the conversation and eventually “hung-up”

  • Kenisha July 30, 2015, 5:40 pm

    All I can say at this point is wow I had centrylink 1 month and knew they were scamers I receive a bill for $400 dollars when my bundle was 99 dollars so Evan if there was 50 bucks tax where in the world did the other 250 come from I have yet to receive an explanation why the fee is so much

  • yvonne August 12, 2015, 7:48 pm

    What a scam. Rude service reps who put you on hold for 30 min. or more. When you think you got a good deal, you then find out that the price goes up and up with hidden fees. But they don’t tell you that. Agents flat out lie to you about the cost. When you have a question no one knows the answer and puts you on hold again for another 30 min. Then they hang up on you. This is the poorest customer service ever. No wonder they loose customers. I will never use their service again. How do they stay in business?

  • Bill Carleton August 22, 2015, 4:56 pm

    How do they stay in business? Simple. They have a monopoly, and in today’s world, telephones are a necessity.

  • Larry Frantz September 9, 2015, 3:46 pm

    This company’ customer service and how they talk to customers is beyond unbelievable. I recently had an issue and spoke with an alleged supv. named Ben. He was arbutrary, rude and basically told me I didn’t know how to communicate. I have dealt with people in stressful situations for 37 years with the same company. I have never been talked down to like I was with this person and basically verbally abused. There was no attempt on his part to be reasonable. UNBELIEVABLE

  • Janey rector October 2, 2015, 10:27 am

    This is one of the worse company’s I have ever dealt with . My phone went out sept. 26,2015. As of October 2,2015 they haven’t been to by home to see what the trouble is. When I call every word out of there mouth is a lie. My internet with them is awful.

  • I hope their executives die slowly and painfully November 12, 2015, 12:55 am

    Similar experience. Quoted at about $50/month, first bill comes and they want $200!! I called to dispute, they say well there are a lot of one time fees for new service. Wonder why the rep(rehensible #^@*#%) who talked me into it didn’t mention that!!! So I say, you guys are sleazy, just close the account. “There will be a $200 cancellation fee.” Gee, the rep didn’t mention that either!!! I wish the worst things imaginable on this p.o.s. company!

  • Dick Bernard November 20, 2015, 10:15 pm

    Been a Century Link bundle customer since May 2013. We were even paying our Verizon bill thru them ($70.00, monthly. End of June first of July we stopped paying Verizon thru Century Link (paying them directly ourselves). Instead of our monthly bill going down $70., it went up $15-$20???? Now we are being told, after more than ten hours of phone conversations, that bundle pricing is not available in our area, even though that is what we were told some two and a half years ago. I have made our payments each month, and they keep telling me next month it will be corrected, etc…I agree with many of the complaintants, this company could care less about the customer, they sell it, then stick it to you. When the products work (phone, internet and prism), they are fine, too much down time, or problems.. Field tech’s have all been wonderful, some people on the phones seem nice, but many, many are untrained….

  • dian landis December 14, 2015, 8:57 pm

    I have been with the same phone company since I was 18 years old.I am now 67. Do the math. They keep changing their name and customer service gets progressively worse. For the past three years phone service has been a nightmare. My phone is humming so loud I can’t hear what anyone is saying to me. And I pay $6.00 per month for linebacker! I’ve paid every month from the beginning. Nearly 50 years. My best suggestion to anyone would be to call the Corporation Commission. Depending whose side they are on, might be of help to someone out there.

  • carolyn tyler January 4, 2016, 4:54 pm

    this is the worst service I have ever dealt with..They never send me the same price in any month. I have gone thru their retention dept several times and never get a same price twice. They lie and say well pay the bill this time and next month it will be lower, instead, its higher..Now to top it off they will leave you on hold forever, so they won’t have to deal with you.doesn’t leave much options, I can’t find any thats any better, they are all ripoffs, I can’t even get them to disconnect the horrible service!!

  • P Roberts January 23, 2016, 9:43 pm

    I do not like the new format of the centurylink web page. No more at a glance information or customization allowed. You have to scroll through a bunch of stuff to even try to find what you might be looking for. I HATE it! I also think the new modem is junk. Still having buffering problems. Worked fine for 3 yrs then in May, started having connection problems. Nothing changed in my house. Got a new modem for $100. Our computer tech guy even came out and said the new Centurylink modems are junk! You’ll be getting this one back!

  • Kathryn Miller February 5, 2016, 7:47 pm

    I am going through the same thing with the billing keep going up and up rude workers, keep you on hold for hours , frustrating you until you give up the Organization have changed a lot. I need to find me someone else.

  • Kendra Payton February 9, 2016, 8:50 am

    These people are so fuckin dumb. I recently was under the impression that I was on a promotion and I have all this bs on my bill from 2 months ago mind you, I haven’t used the in house phn at all, and now my device for internet and home phn is 236.00 for what. I hate this company and they need to be put out of business asap and I ready to start a petition. I’m on a fixed income. Omg how the hell am I supposed to pay this freaking bill

  • JIllena Levine February 16, 2016, 3:12 pm

    I have not been able to receive or make out going calls not even to 911 since 02/13/20016. it is now 02/16/2016.

    I have been waiting for a Tech to come to the house during that time. They could care less about the phone services.

  • Sandra Faison February 23, 2016, 10:48 pm

    Ok. So I wanted to try Centurylink because I wanted to try to work from home with my job. I get a sales rep that kept me on hold for 30 minutes because she is quite ( still working on my setup) She comes back on the phone to say I am on an account already with my husband. Haven’t been married in over 15 years so I asked what address was the account in. She replies and I tell her I have never been a resident with this address. Another 20 minutes of holding after asking for a supervisor they explain to me there was nothing they could do. Since the person in question has the same last name as me ( a relative) I couldn’t receive services. Wow centurylink has become unbelievable.

  • Sandra Faison February 23, 2016, 10:48 pm

    Ok. So I wanted to try Centurylink because I wanted to try to work from home with my job. I get a sales rep that kept me on hold for 30 minutes because she is quite ( still working on my setup) She comes back on the phone to say I am on an account already with my husband. Haven’t been married in over 15 years so I asked what address was the account in. She replies and I tell her I have never been a resident with this address. Another 20 minutes of holding after asking for a supervisor they explain to me there was nothing they could do. Since the person in question has the same last name as me ( a relative) I couldn’t receive services. Wow

  • Run for the hills March 4, 2016, 5:56 pm

    These people are stupid. Had them for a year service is ok, called to negotiate new contract 4 diff people later and 4 hours of my life gone it was done including transfer. Well I call back on day of transfer to find out nothing was set up nothing was annotated so not only am I out of service I have to call back and try to negotiate with these a holes, btw when they tell you that is the best price they can do ask for a manager and just keep fucking badgering them because u can get it to as low as 30 a month. Just be prepared to be hung up on to be given the run around and lose 3-4 hours of your life. Oh and btw They tried to give me less speed and increase my monthly by half . Company is absolutely ridiculous and all the execs should be beaten and flogged.

  • Justin March 18, 2016, 6:13 pm

    Centurylink, where do I start. First off their six hour window for installation is ridiculous. Secondly they didn’t offer a installer to come out. Internet didn’t work. Customer service assumed they knew the issue rather then listening to the customer. We wasted over a hour and a half trying to get them to send a installer back out to fix it. That took 2 days. Only 4 hr window this time. They came on wrong day causing me to leave work early. My house caught fire and I can’t live there for atleast a month or so. We tried to put service on hold, they said we would still have to pay 10 bucks a month….haha what a joke..canceled

  • Brent March 22, 2016, 7:32 pm

    CenturyLink came to my house to sell me internet. While on the phone to set up an appointment, they asked for my Social Security Number. They said it would be a hard credit check. I thought “Awesome! someone with integrity, and knew what they were talking about”. I asked if we could move forward without the credit check, so they entered all “9’s”. This morning, I woke up with a credit alert in my email. I looked into it, and it was Quest.
    Even though they used all 9’s for my social security number, didn’t have my consent, they still did a “hard” credit check- using my name and Address.

  • Sonya Anderson March 23, 2016, 11:15 pm

    My company cancelled our internet service August 2015as the company was moving. At that time I was asked for a good address and told I would receive a zeroed out bill. I received a bill in February 2016 which claims the company owes over $700 for services since September 2015. I never received anything at the updated address. Although Century Link had my phone number and email, they did not try to contact me. Several months last year I was threatened with disconnection for non-payment but I have bank statements proving my company paid and early. So why did the most recent bill not threaten disconnection since it’s 6 months overdue? Their customer service agents can’t seem to agree on what the account “notes” say. Century Link is demanding a confirmation number which the rep did not provide when I cancelled. When I called Century Link after receiving the latest bill, I told the rep to cancel the account because it should have been cancelled in August 2015. Odd, this rep did not offer a confirmation # either. The rep said we should receive a letter to confirm the cancellation. We never received one. Now the latest rep said the bill was the “letter” we were expecting. Then why did I receive a letter a year ago from Century Link when I cancelled the business service? This is fraud and no one at Century Link will talk to us they just keep repeating that they have to have the confirmation # and the notes don’t say we cancelled and they sent the company a bill every month. On and on with excuses.

  • Amy Shepherd April 25, 2016, 9:12 pm

    Centurylink is screwing me over again! My accounts were supposed to be bundled and set back up after I moved. I was charged $200 for the move. It is now almost May…my directv services have been disconnect even thought I have made a payment each month based on the information found on my online account…I have recently discovered that although I never received a bill and the information is not posted on my account online I owe them $500+. I have spent over 3 months to get this taken care of, been told by 10 (literally) different people that’s its fixed. I have supporting documentation to demonstrate employees from this company informing me this has been resolved. But guess what!!! Its not. Yet again another week goes by and no TV service…Its Monday afternoon I have been on the phone with them almost 3 hours and have spoke to 4 people just today. Isnt that just exciting! I guess I will just keep paying for something that I don’t have.

  • Elinor Levitt May 2, 2016, 2:00 pm

    I have had many varied accounts in my long life and have never had an issue. I have excellent credit … not problem there…several credit cards…no problem there. The ONLY company I have had repeated issues with is Century Link. the compllaint department is inefficient… the service people who answer the phone are idiots. Nothing gets resolved without long waits on the phone or call backs. I have a master’s degree from a major university and a lifetime of experiences in the business world. I have never had the trouble I have EVERY time I try to resolve an issue with Century Link. They are the most difficult company to do business with…BE FOREWARNED!!

  • rachel castille May 19, 2016, 5:24 pm

    Not only is the high speed Internet a joke, but customer service as well as tech support rude! I’m currently paying $87.50 a month for Internet that hardly works. When they tell you they will send someone out they don’t know what they are doing. I hate the fact that where I currently live I have no other choice but them. Seriously need to fix there issues and take a look at there rude staff!

  • E Liggins May 19, 2016, 10:59 pm

    I have had home phone service, a plain landline with pay as you use long distance $20 per month and .15 minute for LD. Received a notice saying my service will be disconnected 4/24. Didn’t pay, phone went dead, received a bill today through June. Called and was told it is valid because they still provided the service. That I was sent a “warning letter” stating my service would be suspended. The letter says ********disconnect notice*********** in bold and says my service will be “disconnected” on 4/24. They refuse to remove any charges or backdate. They told me it is my responsibility to call in when they warn me. WHAT?? That its not their responsibility to to disconnect my service when they say and I had the service (even though I had no dial-tone and was unable to use it) and they will not take off any charges.

  • Sirak May 24, 2016, 9:39 pm

    I was on the phone on customer service agent 3 different times they all hang up the phone on me time was 4:30 date may 34th 2016

  • Sirak May 24, 2016, 9:41 pm

    The worst customer service in earth

If You Have a CenturyLink Complaint, Share Your CenturyLink Complaints With Others By Submitting A Public Comment Below.